Freedom in colour

Time flies. Not long till the workshops at Pallant House now and am throwing myself into colouring a lot of the illustrations for Knitting Time. In this coloured version of Freedom I tried to capture a sense of the changing seasons as well as something of the change in light at twilight.

black and white drawing of an Oak tree on the left side of the landscape and a male and female figure on the right side, merging into a landscape of oak leaves

Freedom [C] Colin Hambrook 2013

About Knitting Time: art and poetry on life and mental health

This blog came out of a project partnering with Outside In and Waterloo Press back in 2013. My illustrated poetry collection 'Knitting Time' was published and illustrations from the book were exhibited at Pallant House Gallery, Chichester, West Sussex, alongside a series of workshops reflecting on themes around grief. I have continued blogging sporadically about my arts practice since then. If you feel motivated to comment via email you can contact me via colinetto [at] gmail.com
This entry was posted in Links. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Freedom in colour

  1. detrich says:

    I learned something viewing this that i didn’t know form your performance at Survivors. The picture is called Freedom. Makes me think of my intention to use pictures at shows. Do i need to react and respond to the pictures as well as read my poems?

  2. phil baird says:

    Dear Colin, I like and relate to your drawings prose and poetry. There is such rich material present that works towards integration and completeion. I agree so much with the knitting time metapher and regard my own drawings as a knitting together of experiances to form an image that somehow becomes fixed and forms a chapter of autobigraphy. I also like the introduction of the full colour illustration. A great addition that includes aspects of mood and atmosphere not quite possible with black and white alone. I look forward to seeing your book. from Phil Baird.

    • I really value your comments Phil. It’s a knitting of the soul that drives me to make this work. Having realised how much my childhood and early adult experiences continue to influence everything in my life I have been determined to use those experiences in a constructive way.

      I see a lot of similarity between your drawing style and my own and that’s really inspiring. Is the ‘St Donnats Castle’ drawing on your Outside In gallery the St Donnats near Cardiff? I think it must be but thought I’d ask.

Leave a comment