On the Astral

.Image

It’s been a while since I updated my blog and as I’ve been fairly busy painting I thought I’d add a photo of this work-in-progress. It’s great to be working on a fairly large scale (4 foot x 4 foot) and am enjoying it greatly. Without planning it I ended up going back to poetry from my first collection 100 Houses as inspiration for this image, which depicts how it feels to have an involuntary out of body experience – something which I was prone to until about ten years ago.

On the Astral

young, I felt the breathe
of a world that lives alongside
everyday,

felt the crush
like daddy-long-legs,
gasping to fly;

learnt to fight my way back
into the body, lying like a sack
on broken-down beds
of insect dreams,

no daily dose
of belladonna washed down
with a level playing field, could
take away those moments
of terror, wonderful

when the infinite
crawls, a bats hair away
and sometimes, easing
out of the body-grip
and finding my essence able
to fly around the room
and

out of the window,
across the night sky,
like the time I saw you
old eagle-love; chasing,
possessed and
possessing,

the drugged-out
demon of you, flying
the ether for longer than your
material body
could furnish.
(c) Colin Hambrook 2013

About Knitting Time: art and poetry on the theme of psychosis

'Knitting Time: a journey through loss' is a poetry and visual arts project reflecting on the theme of art and psychosis. A book and exhibition of the work is due to be launched at Pallant House Gallery in Chichester, West Sussex on 10 October 2013 to celebrate World Mental Health Day. During this research and development phase I want to gather responses, thoughts, recollections and comments, so please fill in my surveymonkey at http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/F2MN2MT and add your let me know what you think? Or feel free to email me via knitting-time [at] btinternet.com
Aside | This entry was posted in mental health, Poetry, psychology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

