Writing as a form of survival

a black and white drawing with a tree and a faceWriting is important to me for a myriad of reasons. A big one is to do with impairment. Having M.E. makes life difficult. I lose focus and struggle to recall even the vaguest details of things. I write so I know what I’m doing; so that I have record of events and how I felt or what I thought about them. I don’t always go back to what I’ve written, but knowing I’ve something down in writing is reassuring. It gives me a sense of security that I don’t get from moment to moment, living with brain fog and the persistent threat of finding my thinking processes have become incapacitated.

With M.E. memory is untrustworthy. There are a mirage of possible events, but no sure way of knowing whether or not what you recall is just an image or is fact. Without the writing, you cannot be sure. Writing, for me, is a bit like being a dog sniffing the ground in pursuit of definition of where my territory lies. The words make things tangible in spite of the brain fog. And poetry, like the sense of smell, can evoke an emotional definition of experience in a way that goes beyond words.

I’ve always written poetry. It has always been an essential part of who I am – although the poetry that has influenced me, has mostly been the stuff of popular writers, lyricists and songwriters, rather than the heady stuff of literature. It’s taken me a long time to find the confidence to take my efforts seriously and to go beyond the notion of poetry with a big ‘P’

Writing poetry is part of that instinct to find meaning and purpose; to dig down into the recesses. It is a way of crystalising thoughts and feelings about experience; an almost alchemical process where you take the raw, gut sense of life and try to turn it into gold. I love imagery, the magic of the ability words have of creating pictures the imagination can revel in. But with practice I have learnt to let those pictures fade, or even to rub them out, when they get in the way of saying something that has intention. It is hard to define that sense of knowing that what you’ve put down in words is ‘real’.

The Up-Stream commission last year represented a real breakthrough in motivating me to pick up the mantle of the poet and to start crafting my art. It came during a time of grief for my son, during his descent into psychosis. In her memoir, ‘The Year of Magical Thinking’ Joan Didion refers to Sigmund Freud and Melanie Klein’s clinical commentary on the process of grief as an illness. Grief set me on a course of falling into a space where my own childhood sat like an empty mirror, calling me to examine emotions I couldn’t contain. Grief isn’t rational. It affects the way you think and feel in unpredictable ways. I found myself writing from a point of view that lay somewhere between my mother and father and myself – a melting pot where family experience was a well-spring that needed expression, if I was to prevent myself from drowning.

And so, since Up-Stream the poetry has kept on coming. It has been a wonderful opportunity to take the writing into places it hasn’t been before. I’m starting to get things together and put the work out in the world a bit at a time. And with the help of Bonny Cummins and Cate Jacobs – mentors I’ve been working with as a result of Up-Stream I’m gaining confidence in myself as a poet.

The Word Locker
© Colin Hambrook

In the corner stands a locker where the words lie contained;
some arranged like bricks stacked for use in order of relevance.

They wait, sentinels to be taken out when the moment seems right;
often dislodging syllables, breaking with context,
withholding meaning like cruel siblings.
Some hang limb-like, or fit the body of the room;
organs effective for purpose, motivated by desire or need.

New words are acquired at risk of displacing the old;
a trusted myriad of volumes of language
made for love or business, devotion or art.
They slip or crawl like insects struggling to free themselves;
lost in a mind-maze with its cavernous pathways and endless corridors.

I work extra hard to retain the key to the store –
the bridges they create; the barriers they destroy.
Often invisible they hide; scuttling away in naughty corners
like children ready to trip for fun
or resembling slug trails between me and you.

Often, in the hardness of this word made flesh
I fall shy of reaching through this difficult veil;
lose you to urgent winds that blow the diagraphs to ash.
It isn’t the content that counts, but whether it allows you in;
to feel the quality of the chords’ vibration releasing them into the world.

And facing the space between endings and beginnings
I look for you in the silence that holds the light;
where they fall like tears; oxygen dissolving
in that briefest of moments where life is.

For further information on my illustrated collection ‘100 Houses’ can be found at:
http://100houses.co.uk
http://www.amazon.co.uk/100-Houses-Colin-Hambrook/dp/0956891500

 

About Knitting Time: art and poetry on the theme of psychosis

'Knitting Time: a journey through loss' is a poetry and visual arts project reflecting on the theme of art and psychosis. A book and exhibition of the work is due to be launched at Pallant House Gallery in Chichester, West Sussex on 10 October 2013 to celebrate World Mental Health Day. During this research and development phase I want to gather responses, thoughts, recollections and comments, so please fill in my surveymonkey at http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/F2MN2MT and add your let me know what you think? Or feel free to email me via knitting-time [at] btinternet.com
This entry was posted in Links, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

66 Responses to Writing as a form of survival

  1. Somebody essentially help to make significantly posts I might state.
    This is the very first time I frequented your website page and thus far?

    I surprised with the research you made to make this particular post incredible.
    Fantastic task!

  2. Greetings! I’ve been following your website for a while now
    and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Austin Tx!
    Just wanted to tell you keep up the fantastic job!

  3. This is a topic which is near to my heart…
    Many thanks! Where are your contact details
    though?

  4. First off I want to say terrific blog! I had a quick
    question in which I’d like to ask if you do not mind.
    I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear your mind before writing.
    I’ve had a difficult time clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out.
    I do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10 to
    15 minutes are generally wasted just trying to figure
    out how to begin. Any recommendations or tips?
    Many thanks!

  5. xtrasize says:

    Your method of telling the whole thing in this piece of writing is
    genuinely nice, all can easily understand it, Thanks a lot.

  6. Howdy I am so happy I found your webpage, I really
    found you by accident, while I was researching on Yahoo for something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like
    to say thanks a lot for a incredible post and a
    all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it
    all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also added your RSS feeds,
    so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up
    the fantastic work.

  7. I almost never leave a response, but I browsed some remarks on this page Writing as a form
    of survival | Colin Hambrook’s art and poetry blog. I actually do have a
    couple of questions for you if you do not mind. Is it just me
    or does it look as if like a few of these comments
    come across as if they are left by brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are posting on
    additional online sites, I would like to keep up with you.
    Would you post a list of every one of all your public sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed,
    or linkedin profile?

  8. Having read this I believed it was very informative. I appreciate you spending
    some time and energy to put this article together.
    I once again find myself spending a significant amount
    of time both reading and leaving comments. But so what, it was
    still worth it!

  9. Incredible quest there. What happened after? Take care!

  10. First off I would like to say excellent blog! I had
    a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your
    mind prior to writing. I have had a tough time clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out there.
    I truly do take pleasure in writing however it just seems like the first 10
    to 15 minutes tend to be lost just trying to figure out how to begin.
    Any recommendations or hints? Kudos!

  11. acai beeren says:

    Hi there! This post couldn’t be written any better!
    Going through this post reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He constantly kept preaching about this. I most certainly will forward
    this post to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Many thanks for
    sharing!

  12. You could certainly see your enthusiasm within
    the work you write. The sector hopes for more passionate writers such as you who
    are not afraid to say how they believe. At all times follow your
    heart.

  13. We are a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community.
    Your website offered us with valuable info to work on.
    You have done a formidable job and our whole community will be grateful to
    you.

  14. Hi there! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a group of volunteers and starting a new initiative
    in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us beneficial information to work on.
    You have done a wonderful job!

  15. Does your website have a contact page? I’m having problems locating it but, I’d like to send you
    an email. I’ve got some recommendations for your blog you might be interested
    in hearing. Either way, great site and I look forward to seeing it develop over
    time.

  16. Nancy says:

    Wow, incredible blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?
    you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is magnificent, as well as the content!

Leave a Reply

